Maharashtra cleaved into RED and NON-RED zones amid Lockdown 4.0

Maharashtra Government on Tuesday announced a brand new set of guidelines and regulations to be pursued during the fourth phase of the coronavirus-induced lockdown taking place till May 31.
During the earlier phases of lockdown, the state was divided into red, orange and green zones.

The Municipal corporations in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (which includes Mumbai, Thane and surrounding towns), as well as civic bodies of Pune, Solapur, Aurangabad, Malegaon, Nashik, Dhule, Jalgaon, Akola and Amravati fall in the red zone, it stated.
All these areas have high number of coronavirus cases.
All the remaining areas of the state fall in non-red zone, an official statement said.
The government had declared on Sunday that lockdown will continue till May 31.
In both red and non-red zones, municipal/district authorities will demarcate containment zones.

Municipal commissioners and district collectors will have the power to spot residential colonies,slums,buildings or groups of buildings, lanes, wards, police station areas, villages or small clusters of villages as containment zones.
But for declaring larger areas, such as a whole taluka or municipal corporation, as containment zones, they will have to consult the Chief Secretary of the state.
In containment zones only essential activities will be allowed. No movement of people in and out of these zones will be allowed except for medical emergencies and maintaining supply of essential goods.

In red zones, all government offices comprising sub-registrar and Regional Transport Offices, offices of university/colleges for non-teaching work, staff involved in evaluation of answer sheets, declaration of results and development of e-content will function at five per cent strength or with minimum of 10 employees, which ever is more, the guidelines said.
As of Monday evening, Maharashtra had recorded 35,058 coronavirus cases,the highest in the country.

-By Aakash Ranjan